SPAA reveals Sparkle Awards shortlist

Nominees across 12 categories in the second annual Scottish Passenger Agents’ Association (SPAA) Sparkle Awards have been unveiled.

The shortlist, including two new awards, come ahead of a presentation lunch at the Radisson Blu in Glasgow on September 8.

The awards recognise the contribution of front-line travel agency staff in Scotland. 

Judges, from award sponsors Edinburgh airport, Delta Air Lines, Stuba, Travelsphere, Silversea and Gold Medal, considered anonymous submissions outlining how individuals have excelled in their forward-facing customer roles.

SPAA president Mike Tibbert said: “The Sparkle Awards celebrate exceptional individual members of travel agency staff in Scotland, both business and leisure agents, who look after our customers every day. 

“Our SPAA annual awards in November recognise agency principles, but the Sparkle Awards reward customer-facing staff; staff who go the extra mile for their client and their industry sector.

“The Sparkle debut awards were so well received by travel professionals in Scotland that we are delighted to expand the categories for 2023 to include a category for team player of the year and luxury consultant of the year.”

The nominees are:

Business Travel Consultant of the Year

  • Christine Rodden – Altour
  • Laura Salazar- Clyde Travel
  • Claire Reid – Wings Global Travel

Agency Support  Award (non reservations)

  • Leanne Weir- Barrhead Travel
  • Lee Chalmers – Hays
  • Lisa Fallon – Kenneth McLeod Travel

Touring and Adventure Consultant of the Year

  • Scott McMillan – Barrhead Travel
  • Irene Darracott – Kenneth McLeod Travel
  • Christiane McCorgray – Thorne Travel

Newcomer of the Year

  • Aleksandra Michalczyk, Clyde Travel
  • Susan Freeman – Murray Travel
  • Lewis Banks – John Stewart Travel

Leisure Consultant of the year

  • Joanne Davidson – Greig Avinou Travel
  • Elisabeth Barrie Mitchell – Barrhead Travel
  • Kirsty Paterson – Henderson Travel

Operations Manager of the Year – Leisure Travel

  • Kieran McVeigh – Greig Avinou Travel
  • Kelly Lyall – Hays Travel
  • Vicky Wilson – John Stewart Travel

Operations Manager of the Year – Corporate Travel

  • Karyn Getty – Clyde Travel
  • Graeme Fyvie ,Reed and Mackay
  • Joanne Cheyne – Wings Global Travel

Corporate Account Manager of the Year

  • Gayle Gordon – Clyde Travel
  • Martin Jubb – Clyde Travel
  • Leston Paul – Wings Global Travel

Cruise Consultant of the year

  • Heather Currie- Hays Travel
  • Kirsten Pritchard – The Cruise Specialists (Barrhead)
  • John Ferguson – Thorne Travel

Luxury Consultant of the Year

  • Adla Toal – Barrhead Travel
  • Donna Payne – Hays Travel
  • Tracy Ian – Murray Travel

Team Player of the Year

  • Joanne Gillespie- Hays Travel
  • Jessica Graham – Hays Travel
  • Laura Marshall – Glen Travel

Rising Star of the Year

  • Chloe Campbell – Greig Avinou Travel
  • Jessica Watt – Clyde Travel
  • Joel Grant – John Stewart Travel

Go to Source...